Day 7 – Haircut in Southern Bavaria

The pace of the trip starts to slow today. We arrived in Schwangau, Southern Bavaria yesterday evening. From our apartment, we have magnificent views from 3 balconies over the Tyrol mountains, Lake Forggensee, and Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein castles. The latter castle is the one on which the Disney cinderella castle was modelled.

After so many miles in the car, we have rented 4 bikes and will keep the car in the garage for the next 3 days. We can go everywhere we want by bike. Tilly and Nancy have been practising their Tour de France skills, while Lorna has been dropping off the back of the Peleton.

Our (rather spacious) apartment is in the grounds of a pretty large hotel complex. We enjoyed the hotel’s new pool complex (opened last Friday)? Interconnecting inside and outside infinity pools with spectacular views over the mountainside could be navigated via a sliding door. A really impressive facility.

Some of you may know that I haven’t had my hair cut in the UK for almost 10 years. I can’t remember how this quest started, but I suspect that I never had time to get it cut unless I was travelling and then – about 3-4 years ago – I decided to see how long I could extend the record. There have been many bad one’s; one in Dubrovnic took months to recover from. The last but one (in Marco Island) was one of the best I have ever had. Anyway, my hair had become too long and started to curl, and I had to get it cut somewhere on this trip. I chose to entrust Anja with this task. I gave her the usual instructions (in german) which she then proceeded to ignore. My favourite bit was at the end when Anja took out a really large picture of George Clooney and then said “you now look just like George Clooney”. My suspicion is that every man gets this haircut and that George himself would get the same cut should he choose to enter the premises in Schwangau. I was brought down to earth by Tilly who, upon hearing the story, reflected and then opined that it looked more like Tintin’s! In my experience, you can’t tell how good a haircut is until the next day.

I also went food shopping this morning. It amazes me the difference in food prices in Europe (supposedly a single market). Germany is so cheap compared to UK or France. Lorna and I both like trying local takes on foods we like. I’ve been sampling Bavarian breads while Lorna loves Sauerkraut

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marilyn Bishop on July 28, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    Dad:Who is George Clooney? I look forward to the pictures of you all, with bikes, outside a high schloss.

    What does Nancy think of the local chocolate cake?

    Reply

  2. Very Interesting!
    Thank You!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

